top of page

CESHK Annual Conference

CESHK's Annual Conference will be held November 22-24, 2024 at the University of Hong Kong. The Conference will celebrate 35 years of CESHK and 30 years of the Comparative Education Research Centre.

Comparative Education: Historical Roots, New Beginnings


Keynote Speakers


Yang Rui

Dean and Chair Professor

University of Hong Kong

Faculty of Education

CESHK President 2009-10


Iveta Silova

Professor and Associate Dean Global Engagement

Arizona State University

CIES President 2020


Wing On Lee

Singapore University of Social Sciences

CESHK President 1996-98

WCCES President 2010-13 

Call for papers 

We welcome papers for the Conference which celebrate looking backward and looking forward in comparative and international education in Hong Kong, China, and around the world. Submissions which focus on other areas of comparative and international education are also welcome.

Submissions can be for an individual presentation (with one or more authors) or a panel presentation. After peer review, presenters with accepted submissions will receive Acceptance Letters via email.

Presentations can be in English, Cantonese, or Mandarin/Putonghua. English and Chinese sessions will run separately. If you wish to present in Cantonese or Mandarin/Putonghua, you must submit your abstract in written Chinese (traditional or simplified characters). Accepted presentations are not allowed to change their language of presentation after the acceptance letters are issued.

Conference Registration and CESHK Membership

All presenters at the CESHK Annual Conference must become members by October 15.

  • General Membership (full-time employment) + Conference fee: HKD 800

  • Discount Membership (part-time employment/between jobs/students) + Conference fee: HKD 500

  • Membership only: HKD 300

Membership is for the current calendar year. Members joining CESHK after 1st September will enjoy membership until the end of the following calendar year.

Important Dates

15.06     Submission deadline

31.07     Announcement of results

01.10     Draft programme released

07.10     Deadline for presenter membership and conference registration fee payments

01.11     Final program released

22-24.11   CESHK Annual Conference

The first day of the Conference, November 22, may be reserved for workshops and other special sessions for our student members.

In the meantime, join our Facebook page which provides regular updates on CESHK events and related happenings.

We look forward to seeing you at the Conference!

Conference Committee

Liz Jackson (HKU), Nutsa Kobakhidze (HKU), Gordon Tsui (HKU), David Sorrell (EdUHK), Jeremy Rappleye (HKU), Yingda Guo (HKU), Mark Bray (HKU), Priya Goel (HKU), Jisun Jung (HKU), Emily Mang (EdUHK), Anatoly Oleksiyenko (EdUHK), Theara Thun (HKU), and Ewan Wright (EdUHK)

The University of Hong Kong

The University of Hong Kong is located on Hong Kong Island in the Western District. The Annual Conference is being co-organised with the Comparative Education Research Centre and the Faculty of Education.

bottom of page